AAI’s 21st Annual Awards Dinner

September 14, 2005

AAI held its 21st Annual Awards Gala at the Mandarin Oriental New York. With Gala Chairs Ambassador Andrew Young and Bobby Sager, AAI presented its Award for African National Achievement to H.E. Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda, on behalf of the People of Rwanda for their transformation from a virtually failed state 10 years ago toward a stable, inclusive government committed to justice, democracy, and economic development.

AAI presented the Distinguished Alumna Award to Betty Bigombe, chief peace negotiator between the Lord’s Resistance Army and the Government of Uganda for promoting peace; and the Distinguished Alumnus Award to Jonathan Lifa, Regional Manager of Public Affairs for Chevron in Africa for promoting U.S.-Africa Business Linkages. Roger Wilkins accepted AAI’s Distinguished Trustee Award. The evening’s Mistress of Ceremonies was journalist, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, and included a performance by comedian Chris Tucker.

Share this!
Facebook Twitter Email